General Information
Phone Numbers
Fax: 785-877-5722
Emergencies: Dial 911
105 S. Kansas Avenue, 3rd Floor
PO Box 70

Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 12:00 pm, 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm

District Court

General Information

The District Court of Norton County, Kansas is within the 17th Judicial District. This district includes the counties of Decatur, Graham, Norton, Phillips, Smith and Osborne. 

The mission of the Office of the Clerk of the District Court is to create and maintain an accurate and durable record of the District Court, and to provide timely, efficient and respectful service to the Judges of the District Court, the legal community and the public.

All cases filed receive case type with consecutive number designation. All papers filed, process requests issued, returns made, appearances, orders, verdicts, judgments and payments must be indicated in the record chronologically on the date each occurs. All papers filed in a case must be preserved for the record and stamped with the date and time of filing. Some filings may also be electronically filed. 

The Clerk of the District Court office is responsible for keeping records on all cases filed with the Court concerning the following:  

Adoption ♦ Care and Treatment ♦ Child Support ♦ Domestic Relations ♦ Civil ♦ Limited Civil ♦ Small Claims ♦ Marriage Licenses ♦ Probate ♦ Juvenile ♦ Criminal ♦ Fish and Game Citations ♦ Traffic Tickets